Sacramento Auto Accident Attorneys
Automobile Accident Litigation
Minimum Vehicle Insurance Required by Law
The State of California requires that all drivers carry a minimum of liability insurance:
- To cover them regardless of whose car they're driving
- To cover others who may be driving the insured's vehicle
The minimum amount required is:
- $15,000 for injury or death of 1 person per accident (or $30,000 for 2 people); and
- $5,000 for property damage per accident
This is true of out-of-state drivers as well as those who have an invalid California license or no license.
All drivers must have evidence in the car of this insurance. If a driver is involved in an accident and cannot provide proof of having such minimum insurance, their driving privilege will be suspended for a year.
"Reasonable Care Under The Circumstances"
This is required by law of everyone who drives in California, and if that care is absent and an accident occurs, that driver is considered 'negligent' and responsible for all damages caused, whether to people or property.
If the damages or injuries are considerable and the responsible driver's insurance coverage is skimpy, you'll have a very hard time dealing with the insurance company(ies) involved, if you have no accident attorney.
If You're Involved In A California Car Accident
You have to report it to DMV if:
- Property damage was more than $750 or
- Any one was injured (even a minor injury) or killed
The driver who injured you must report the accident. The report to the DMV has to be made within 10 days, whether you caused the accident or not and even if it occurred on private property. If that driver doesn't submit the report, his/her driving privilege will be suspended.
If You're A Victim In A Car Accident
If the accident was not your fault, you could be entitled to compensation for:
- Vehicle damage
- Medical costs
- Lost income
- Legal costs
You'll be required to prove that the driver who caused it was indeed negligent, that their negligence was a proximate cause of the accident, and that the accident caused your injuries.
If You Lost A Loved One In A Car Accident
You could be entitled to claim for wrongful death, if the deceased wasn't responsible for the accident. A wrongful death claim can win compensation for such things as:
- Emotional distress
- Lost potential income
- Loss of support and companionship
An Experienced Car Accident Attorney
The difficult part of all this (aside of course from general trauma and distress) is proving fault. To do this successfully, it's imperative to hire an experienced car accident lawyer. A good auto injury lawyer can assess the whole situation, analyze the facts, and establish whether or not you have a good case.
It's crucial to hire this accident attorney as quickly as possible because California imposes a statute of limitations on these situations. So even if you're injured and perhaps in hospital, find someone who can help you locate an experienced accident lawyer as soon as possible.
Laws Governing Insurance Companies
The insurance companies are governed by laws in ways that most laypeople are unaware of. Here are some examples:
- If the agent who sold you your policy misrepresented it, the insurance company will be obliged to honor the coverage as the agent described it, not as the company would have preferred the agent to have described it
- If there's something ambiguous in the text of your policy and one of the possible meanings would slant things in your favor, that's the meaning the company is required to use
- It's not you, but the insurance company, who must prove that an exception in the policy is relevant or not relevant to your claim. Simply quoting that exception to you isn't enough; they must prove things legally
- Punitive damages can be assessed against an insurance company that engages in fraudulent or malicious behavior
Insurance law is complicated. If you find yourself injured by an irresponsible driver in California, lose no time in finding an experienced accident attorney.
IF YOU OR A LOVED ONE HAS BEEN INJURED IN AN ACCIDENT,
IT IS IMPORTANT TO PROTECT YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS.
PLEASE CALL US TOLL- FREE AT 1-888-516-6262
OR CLICK HERE FOR A FREE CONFIDENTIAL CASE EVALUATION
- Feeling Tired? Why Drowsy Driving Can Be As Dangerous As Drunk Driving Although distracted driving and drunk driving remain top factors contributing to Sacramento car accidents, the California Highway Patrol is cracking ....
- California Roll Over Accident Leads To The Death Of Two Teens Sacramento news reports that two California teens died over the weekend as the result of a rollover car crash. According to reports, three teens were ....
- High Number Of Pedestrian Accidents In Los Angeles A recent story in the Los Angeles Times begins "Los Angeles isn't known as a city for walking. Maybe there is a good reason - it's too dangerous." ....